You are currently viewing The 10th Charter Day celebration- Alone we can do little. Together we can do more.

The 10th Charter Day celebration- Alone we can do little. Together we can do more.

While remarking an excellent decade of a great journey which passed thousands of milestones, the Rotaract club of University of Kelaniya celebrated the 10th charter day this year. It was held successfully via Google meet from 6.00 p.m. onwards on the 7th of June 2020. The former president Rtr. Rivi Wijeratne, his board members and the members representing other Rotary and Rotaract clubs joined this moment virtually due to the prevailing situation of the country.

Remarking the commencement of the event, the explanation and the welcome speech was given by Rtr. Nemindi Rathnayake. After her speech, the charter day introductory video was played in order to emphasize on the aim of the event. Then, reflecting the journey of a decade filled with many milestones and land marks, the Rotaract flash back was presented by our former president Rtr. Rivi Wijerathne. After that, the immediate past District Rotaract Representative Rtn. Rtr.Amjath Yusuf delivered his speech to add his wishes to the Rotaract club of University of Kelaniya. The next up was the speech of the president of Rotary club of Colombo uptown- Rotarian Nomal Wijeyaratne.

Then the District Rotaract Representative Rtn. Rtr. Krishan Balaji addressed the audience while expressing his heartiest congratulations to the Rotaract club of university of Kelaniya. The next speech was done by the District Rotaract Representative Elect Rtn. Rtr. Kasun Sigera. After that the District Rotaract Representative Nominee Rtr. Akila Wijethunge addressed the audience. There was an entertaining performance to break the monotony.

The guest speeches were done by the former presidents orderly. First Rtr. Dilanka Weeerakoon (2010/11), Rtr. Harindu Darshana (2016/17), Rtr. Shivantha Dawson (2017/18) addressed the audience. An entertaining event was held after the guest speeches. Finally to remark the end of the charter day, Rtr. Anuththara Mallawarachchi delivered the vote of thanks to express the heartiest gratitude to all the participants who contributed their time to join the charter day.

~ Team leader (Editorial) Rtr. Samadhi Wijethunga.

Leave a Reply