The District Rotary Youth Leadership Awards Conference, or more commonly known as RYLA, for 2015, organized by the Rotary Club of Bandarawela was held on the 4th, 5th and 6th of September 2015, at the Holiday Resort Bandarawela. Rtr. Thilina Nimantha, Rtr. Achela Silva, Rtr. Yoshana Premarathne, Rtr. Shenali Perea and Rtr. Sanoj Mendis represented the Rotaract Club of University of Kelaniya at RYLA 2015.

RYLA is a leadership development program run by Rotary clubs all around the world. Rotaractors and non Rotaractors aged between 18 and 30 are encouraged to participate in RYLA programs. These events are typically 3–10 days long and the format of the event vary from district to district, but commonly take the form of a seminar, camp, or workshop to discuss leadership skills and to learn those skills through practice.

This time, the event was organized with the theme “Achieving Greater Heights”, and under the leadership of Rtn. Rajiv Renganathan, the Rotary Club of Bandarawela succeeded in conducting an efficacious leadership program for 80 delegates representing most of the Rotaract Clubs of District 3220: Sri Lanka and Maldives.

RYLA 2015 commenced with the opening ceremony, on the day of arrival, in the presence of dignitaries, including the Chief Guest District Governor PHF Rtn. George Jesuthasan, President of Rotary Club of Bandarawela, Rtn. PHF Keerthi Bandara, RYLA Chairperson Rtn. Rajiv Renganathan and the members of the organizing committee.

The event included many inbound and outbound activity sessions, workshops and team activities which helped the participants develop their leadership, communication and team work skills that will contribute to be a better leader tomorrow. The organizing committee had taken efforts in providing an exquisite experience to the participants, by inviting a few resource personnel who are well experienced and proficient in their respective fields. It’s noteworthy to mention that the participants were excited and thrilled to experience the adventurous outbound sessions which were conducted, and everyone eagerly participated in every activity, with the aim of making their team the best team at RYLA 2015. The participants were fortunate enough to experience a traditional campfire, on the night before the conclusion, and it definitely was a night to remember!

RYLA 2015 marked the conclusion in the presence of dignitaries the DRR Rtr. PHP PP Sathiyendra Tharmakulerajasingham, Youth Services Chair Rtn. PHF PP Farzana Khan, President of the Rotary Club of Bandarawela Rtn. PHF Keerthi Bandara, the project chair Rtn. Rajiv Renganathan, and the members of the organizing committee including Rtr. Ravindra Thammita, and Rtr. Heshan Wickramathilake.

Rtr. Miyuru Dharmage from the Rotaract Club of Colombo Midtown was adjudged the Best Rylarian at RYLA 2015 while the runners-up was Rtr. Sumalka Mendis from the Rotaract Club of NSBM.

The team Acorn was awarded the Champions under the Best Team category, and the team Oompa Loompas emerged Runners up.

The delegates undeniably showcased togetherness, humbleness and fellowship throughout their 3-day stay in Bandarawela.  RYLA 2015 made all the participants realize that they are indeed proud to be Rotaractors!

The Rotaract Club of University of Kelaniya wishes to express its heartfelt gratitude to RYLA chair Rtn. Rajiv Renganathan, the organizing committee and the Rotary Club of Bandarawela, for a job well done!



Written By : Rtr. Yoshana Premarathne (Joint Secretary)

This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply