You are currently viewing The 13th Installation Ceremony

The 13th Installation Ceremony

The Rotaract Club of University of Kelaniya, chartered in the year 2010 has been active in the mission of serving the community and has always worked to achieve the best. As a continuation of the excellent service rendered for a long period of 12 years, the 13th Installation Ceremony was successfully conducted on the 11th of September 2022 at the Management auditorium in the University of Kelaniya.

Senior Prof. Sudath Kalingamudali, Dean of the Faculty of Science, University of Kelaniya honored the event as the chief guest of this glamorous installation ceremony and Rtn. Delan Silva, the current President of the Rotary Club of Colombo Uptown, was the guest of honor.

The ceremony started with the traditional ritual of lighting the oil lamp and after the dignitaries took their seats at the head table, Rtr. Yasith Dayarathne called the house to order. 

Project chairperson, Rtr. Devindi Perera welcomed the gathering and the Rotaract formalities were delivered by the Senior Editor Rtr. Rahma Zuhri.

Rtr. Avisha Malalaratne, the outgoing secretary, presented the secretary’s report, re-examining what was done and achieved by the club in the Rotaract year 2021-22.

The recap video, which was screened afterward, reflected the assets which the club held and earned in the last wonderful year, and the video also was an effort to condense the year into a memorable moment.

The immediate past president, Rtr. Kisal Ekanayake was introduced with much pleasure and then he addressed the audience.

Along with Rtr. Nimesh Dilshan’s brotherly interpretation of the new president, the introductory video prepared for the new president was screened.

With that, the immediate past president installed the collar on the new president, Rtr. Manula Pethiyagoda and he then addressed the audience expressing his views about the future goals and initiative programs for the year ahead. 

The new Board of Directors for the year 2022-23 was introduced by the incoming President Rtr. Manula Pethiyagoda as follows.

Secretary – Rtr. Verosha Abeygoonewardena

Vice President – Rtr. Dinura Liyanage

Vice President – Rtr. Samadi Perera

Vice President – Rtr. Shakya Wickramaarachchi

Assistant Secretary – Rtr. Akshana Wickramasinghe

Assistant Secretary – Rtr. Madura Gnanaselvam

Treasurer – Rtr. Priyankara Madushan

Sergeant At Arms – Rtr. Yasith Dayarathne

Senior Editor – Rtr. Rahma Zuhri

Co-Editor – Rtr. Dinithi Fernando

Co-Editor – Rtr. Nuzha Farook

Co-Director Club Service – Rtr. Minduli Perera

Co-Director Club Service – Rtr. Thinuri Nanayakkara

Co-Director Club Service – Rtr. Vishwanee Alahkoon

Co-Director Community Service – Rtr. Dewmini Abhisheka

Co-Director Community Service – Rtr. Gayani Jayamanna

Co-Director Community Service – Rtr. Kavishka Kodithuwakku

Co-Director International Service – Rtr. Dinithi Lorensuhewa

Co-Director International Service – Rtr. Pinsari Jayasundara

Co-Director Professional Development – Rtr. Sanduni Hansika

Co-Director Professional Development – Rtr. Senudi Vithana

Co-Director Sports and Entertainment – Rtr. Duleetha Sandaruwan

Co-Director Sports and Entertainment + Rtr. Kavindu Hiroshana

Co-Director Club Relations – Rtr. Chathuka Ravindu

Co-Director Club Relations – Rtr. Thedini Herath

Co-Director Digital Media – Rtr. Harith Jayanath

Co-Director Digital Media – Rtr. Pramod Hettigoda

Co-Director Finance – Rtr. Bawadharani Siwanesan

Co-Director Finance – Rtr. Roshan Rathnayake

Co-Director IT – Rtr. Devja Nethlak

Co-Director IT – Rtr. Sahan Pasindu

Co-Director Member Relations – Rtr. Hashan Koonara

Co-Director Member Relations – Rtr. Yashoda Weerasekara

Co-Director Public Relations – Rtr. Lakni Perera

Co-Director Public Relations – Rtr. Uditha Karandana

After introducing the incoming board members, Rtn. Rtr. PP Ahamed Hussein and Rtn. P. R. Farzana Khan addressed the audience and also congratulated the new president and his executive board for a successful year ahead.

An entertainment item by the very own newly appointed directors was able to spread the vibe of melody, and the audience was refreshed by the beautiful music.

A supportive pillar for the young Rotaractors all over the island, President of the Rotary Club of Colombo Uptown, Rtn. Delan Silva, who was our guest of honor on the occasion, addressed the gathering while instilling in us a new strength and hope.

Then, Senior Prof. Sudath Kalingamudali who witnessed the ceremony as the chief guest addressed the audience praising the services of the club and wished the club for its future endeavors.

The guests who joined the occasion were presented with tokens of appreciation as a way of expressing our sincere gratitude for their presence and also for the limitless guidance and encouragement extended towards RACUOK.

Finally, the incoming club secretary, Rtr. Verosha Abeygoonawardhana marked the end of the ceremony; first step to a new beginning, by thanking everyone who came to extend their best wishes to the board members and to the future journey of our club.

Over the years, the club has been committed to creating a positive change, with the aim of building a society based on cooperation, friendship and humanity. With pride we declare that the novel endeavor of serving the community as we explore the art of volunteerism will extend infinitely into the future.

Viva la Rotaract!

Leave a Reply